Those vertical “silky lines” in a waterfall

This is the entry to “CEE’S COMPOSE YOURSELF PHOTO CHALLENGE: WEEK #7 Vertical Lines”.

I have been practicing shooting waterfalls with low aperture and long exposure time in order to capture those vertical streamlines.

Here are two of the photos captured last week (aperture: f14 – f16, shutter: 0.5 – 1 second, iso 100).

waterfall_2 copy

waterfall_1 copy

When I look at those photos after long exposure, the smoothness of waterfall reminds me of silk surface, so I would rather call those vertical streamlines as “silky lines”.  While cropping the photo the vertical silky lines were the natural references to straight up the photos for composition adjustment.

I also recalled a few months ago I traveled to California with my friends, they captured some photos from my back while I was standing on the rocks and facing the ocean.  My body figure became a straight line reference while I post – processed those photos.  I always remember to place the people on 1/3 location instead of center.

Yan_at_CA_1 copy

Yan_embracing_ocean

Thanks for visiting my post, and I hope you enjoy my work.

3 thoughts on “Those vertical “silky lines” in a waterfall

Leave a comment