Bokeh – the circle of fun

I am away from work during the week between Christmas and New Year.  I took this advantage to learn something new in photography.

One of the subjects I have learned is to create Bokeh effect.  We had a Christmas tree in our living room which was decorated with ornaments and tiny lights.  I set up a candle holder 7 ~ 8 feet from the tree.  Then I placed a tripod couple of feet away from the candle holder.  During shooting I selected f2.8, iso 100 and 1/20 seconds, the focus point was on the candle to purposely blur those tiny lights on the tree.

Then the miracle happened – those tiny lights with pointing ends turned to bunch of colorful Circles behind the candle.

Here are the results.

Bokeh_wt_candle_2

Bokeh_wt_candle_1

Bokeh_gathering

Those Weight(less) and Vibrant little circles seem floating in air. Isn’t it fun?

I am still in the process to turn those circles into heart or other interesting shapes.  I would welcome any suggestions.

Focus

17 thoughts on “Bokeh – the circle of fun

Leave a comment