The Songs of Spring Time

The last winter at Minnesota was mild, with only couple of snowstorms and sub-zero temperature for couple of days.

The spring is also earlier than usual!

Even though there are many kind of flowers popping up soon after soil showed, daffodils, which are symbols of rebirth, new beginnings, hope, joy, good luck, are always the first to show us their pretty faces.

I, I’ve been walking in the snow
Looking for myself in the cold
You, you’ve been afraid of the night
Looking for the money on your own
Sun always brings the light
Time always brings a change
We planted seeds inside
Now we’re dancing in the rain
Growing up slowly over the hills
Winter is over, here come the daffodils

……..”

Daffodils, Song by Alicia Keys

Cherry blossom flowers follow daffodils to bloom within the warm breeze of spring. Unfortunately these elegant flowers are short lived, one rain shower can knock them down from the trees.

It was said that the blooming of cherry blossoms brings a sense of vitality and vibrancy. At the same time, their short lifespan is a reminder that life is fleeting.

Japanese fold song, Sakura Sakura (さくら さくら, “Cherry blossoms, cherry blossoms”)

Cherry blossoms, cherry blossoms,
In fields, mountains and villages
As far as the eye can see.
Is it mist, or clouds?
Fragrant in the rising sun.
Cherry blossoms, cherry blossoms,
Flowers in full bloom.
Cherry blossoms, cherry blossoms,
Across the spring sky,
As far as the eye can see.
Is it mist, or clouds?
Fragrant in the air.
Come now, come now,
Let’s go and see them.

Almost at the same time with cherry blossom, tulip flowers are blooming. They always come with many different colors and shapes. With the symbolism of perfection and unconditional love, they are the warm touch and blessing from our mother nature.

Judy Garland, When You Wore a Tulip and I Wore a Big Red Rose

I met you in a garden in an old Kentucky town,
The sun was shining down, you wore a gingham gown;
I kissed you, as I placed a yellow tulip in your hair,
Upon my coat you pinned a rose so rare.
Time has not changed your lovliness, you’re just as sweet to me,
I love you yet, I can’t forget the days that used to be.

Thanks for this week’s Lens-Artists Challenge: Music to My Eyes, which inspires us to connect music with beautiful things we are seeing everyday!

5 thoughts on “The Songs of Spring Time

Leave a comment