Cheongsam – the Grace throughout History

Chinese New Year can’t be celebrated without the show of Chinese traditional fashion – cheongsam.  The kind of dress tailored to hug the body of a woman actually brings out all sexy and Graceful features of a female. It is inherited from Qi dynasty, and already lasted for a few hundreds years.  It used to be worn by every woman in China, but in nowadays most of the time it just appears in some fashion shows.  The Repurpose of cheongsam helps to educate young generations about Chinese history and traditions.

On the first day of Lunar New Year I went to watch a cheongsam show by a local Chinese cheongsam association and I really enjoyed it.

Here are some photos I took during the show.

7 thoughts on “Cheongsam – the Grace throughout History

  1. One of the things I love about Chinese culture is beauty and grace are not seen as just something for youth – I have seen many older women dressed in graceful cheongsams, some even in a local ‘fashion parade’. Your post with pictures of women of all ages reminded me of this. Clever way to incorporate both last weeks photo challenge of ‘grace’ with this weeks ‘repurpose’!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have one of these dresses, though it doesn’t fit me nearly as well as I’d like. I tried to have a custom one made when I was in Thailand, but Chinese silk is very different – much sturdier. They’re such beautiful dresses, thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

